Posted in An author's view, Writing challenges

#coolprompts ‘Every revolution begins with breakfast’

The curtains were drawn so that no light passed through. Still, I got up in a jump and rushed to the kitchen. Whatever had possessed me didn’t seem to leave me alone for the following hour.

I reached for a cookie for my special-occasion-cookie-jar, then brought it to my mouth in a hurry before reaching for the fruit bowl. I grabbed a handful of grapes and swallowed them like I were drinking water. I then found some toffee laying about on the table, staring deliciously back at me. As I chewed on it for minutes, I opened the fridge and took out the following: eggs, bacon, cheese and an onion. Along with some seasoning of herbs and salt, I prepared them all in a frying pan. This whole time I munched on another toffee, and another, and another…

The huge omelette stood before me, appetizing and leaving me gawk in awe, saliva finding its way out my mouth. It didn’t last long, since I dived into it almost immediately, regardless of how much my tongue burned from the heat.

A continuous shrieking then began. I couldn’t remember when I had put all that water to boil in the kettle, but I decided to make some tea with it. Make it flavourful. Mint, cinnamon, orange peels, rose petals and weird tea leaves I cannot recall anymore.

Only then whatever possessed me left.

I looked around only to see it was pitch black outside. I checked my phone and was amazed to see it was barely 2 a.m. Therefore, with a full stomach, I went back to sleep.


Here’s to another fun #coolprompts writing challenge from Ray. Cheers! *raises imaginary beer*

One thought on “#coolprompts ‘Every revolution begins with breakfast’

Leave a comment